Breaking up with an old flame


Years ago, I was involved with a guy who really knew how to put a little sparkle in a woman’s life. He was high-energy. He was charming. Better yet, he was adoring. But he was way too expensive — emotionally, financially, energy-wise. Much as I enjoyed his company, I had to call it quits.

I’ve recently come to realize that sugar is a lot like that guy.

But veggies… Wow. Veggies are supportive. Veggies are there for the long term. Veggies may not give me that great little high, but they are nuanced, flavorful. Veggies have depth. Veggies are like the guy who fixes you chicken soup when you’re sick. And cleans up the dishes afterward. Seeing things in that light, it’s just natural that I prefer veggies.

Of course, I still run into sugar, just about everywhere I go. There’s just no getting around that. So, what do I do then?

I say, “Hey there, Sugar. It’s good to see you. But, there’s something you need to know: I’m with Veggies now.”

I’ve never been one for messy breakups. I’m still friends with Sugar. But it’s Veggies that I reach for now. Veggies, mmm, mmm, mmmm. Veggies treats me SO nice.

This entry was posted in Food.

Leave a Reply

