Purring Chickens


The wood shed is almost empty (and still so much winter to get through!), so now when I bring in wood I’m looking out on the chicken run where it backs onto the woodshed.

There are lights on in the chicken run all the time. They only need 14 hours of light a day to keep laying, but the timer is packed away somewhere. If I’m getting wood late at night, I get to watch the chickens at their evening routine. Most of them are dozing on the roosts or on the ground. A few are poking around the run, doing chicken things.

And they are purring. Just a soft cooing under their breath. It’s pure contentment. I stand there in the shelter of the woodshed, in the cold quiet night, and listen to them. I love my life.

3 comments on “Purring Chickens

  1. Kelly says:

    Purring chickens are so cute. 🙂

    • Sharon Kay says:

      Thanks, Kelly. It sounds like you’ve had that pleasure too. Do you have a flock currently? How many chickens?

  2. Kelly says:

    I have 14 which include Rhode island reds, three buff bantam cochins, and barred plymouth rocks. The barred rock hens are the friendliest and are the “purrers” of the bunch. They’re all pets. My cat even seems to like them.

Leave a Reply

